DooDeeDooDeeDoo……….

Published April 1, 2007 by glaumland

OK, I’m back again and it looks like I will be for a while. Today was the day to renew my antivirus software subscription, so I’m stuck here for a long time in DDM (dial-up download mode). Ugh! Well, I guess this gives us a chance to get caught up. Darling Hubby just brought me a glass of wine, the kids are in bed, so I guess I’ll just type.

This has been a wierd week. I’ve got lots of stuff to talk about and I think I’ll need a few posts to sort the topics out. Hmmm…let’s see – horses, trust, spring.

Let’s start with my favorite. Spring is continuing to arrive at Glaumland. The lilacs are close to blooming and you can just start to get a hint of their delightful odor. My little clematis actually survived the winter and is growing by leaps and bounds. I’ve got lilies springing up in my lily garden – the best part is I don’t remember all I’ve planted so I’m looking forward to some surprises. The first bud is showing on the irises. The daffodils are finishing up and the grape hyacinth are in full glory. I have zinnias and four-o’clocks beginning to sprout. And the best surprise of all is our wisteria vine/tree/whatever is covered with buds – our first year to have any blooms (I think it’s about 4 years old).

OK, so much for the flowers, now for the fruits & veggies. Some asparagus is popping up even though they’ve been badly neglected. The apples, apricot, cherry & peach trees have finished blooming and are setting on lots of leaves. The grapes are beginning to leaf out, as well as the new thornless blackberry canes we put out (thanks Sue!). Hubby’s pepper seedlings are getting their next set of leaves.

FYI – Darling Hubby just asked me to insert a line about how the asparagus are being ravaged by Mr & Mrs Cottontail, not to mention my “girls” (the only 4 hens I’ve got left from last year’s chicks). At least my “girls” produce eggs and eat bugs, I’m not sure the bunnies have any redeeming qualities except for being cute.

It’s wonderful to have warmer and longer days. We spent some time outside today pulling weeds in the lily garden. The kids wanted to ride the pony and their bikes. And we’re putting up another section of privacy fence around the hot tub. Looking around, it seems like there is a never-ending list of work that needs done. I think painting the house trim and staining the hot tub & privacy fence are at the top. Not to mention the weeds, weeds, weeds. And manure removal. Guess we’ll spend lots of time outdoors this summer.

Well, guess that’s it for this post. Let me check the download time. Sigh – only about 1/6 of the way done. Guess I’ll move on to the next topic.

Until next time…

One comment on “DooDeeDooDeeDoo……….

  • Leave a Reply

