For She’s A Jolly Good Mother

Published May 11, 2009 by glaumland

OK, I know I’m a day late in getting this post written, but Mom will understand; just ask her how long it took me to get into this world! But I couldn’t let Mother’s Day go by without telling the world just how great my mom is.

One of the best gifts I have received from God in the past decade (since my own children were born) was a deep understanding and appreciation of what a wonderful mother I have. You know the old addage about walking a mile in someone else’s shoes to understand them…well, it should be more like walking a mile in high heels, with a purse on your shoulder that is packed to have anything and everything that anyone may need, a bag of groceries spilling over (not the plastic kind with holes for handles, but the paper kind that can rip!), a small child held by the hand because they want to dart out in traffic or jump in every puddle, and a bigger child lagging behind because this domestic scene is just too uncool! Ah ha – now I’m getting a picture of what motherhood is really like.

Mom worked full time outside of the home. Would I have liked her to be home when we got off the bus? Sure, I would. But I always knew that because she worked we got extras – like weeks at summer camp, to go to a parochial school, and to have family vacations. We were in school every day and church every Sunday. We had clean, nice clothes, even if they weren’t ‘fashionable’. We always had a pair of church shoes and play shoes. We had healthy meals (main dish, salad and veggies) even though we ate lots of casseroles or crock-pot dinners. (Funny, Dear Hubby didn’t even know about casseroles until he met me!) Mom took us to the family doctor, eye doctor, and dentist as often as we were supposed to go. She made it to nearly every activity we had, whether it be ball games, or choir, or drama. (I can only remember two that she ever missed.) And she only forgot me twice at the babysitter!

And for all of that work Mom got to enjoy me as a baby (remember how long she was in labor?), a toddler (how many times was I sick and needed doctor’s care?), as a child (I think I might have been kinda easy at this age), as a tweenie (not listening to my elders, and getting a nail in my foot – but that’s another post), and as a teenager (and the many trips to school for all of my activities). That’s not just a mile in high heels, that’s a marathon.

Even to this day, Mom is a life-saver. She’s been around to help me out with my children, and to take care of me with all of my health problems. She picks up the kids when I can’t, and regularly attends their activities. Because I watched her work ethic and commitment to customer service, I know how things should be done on the job. And because of her commitment to God and her family, I know what should be prioritized in my life. Even my friends are jealous about how wonderful and thoughtful my mom is.

Yes, I’ve got my share of all of the scary “Oh no! I’ve become my mother!” moments. But most of the time, I can only wish I was as good a mother as she was and is.

So Mom, I love you and appreciate everything you have taught me and done for me. You have been one of the greatest blessings God has given me. Please remember this even if I forget to say it often enough. Happy Mother’s Day!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

