Going On A Fabric Journey

Published November 19, 2009 by glaumland

I got to spend the day with one of my favorite people today: my best friend & sister of my heart. We’ve been getting together on a regular basis and doing some quilting. It has been very therapeutic and productive – definitely a memorable time.

We’ve finished a baby quilt that had its humble beginnings as some of the ugliest blocks I’ve ever seen. (Why did I ever put those fabrics together?!) Amazing how some fabric, thread and creativity can turn an ugly duckling into a beautiful, snuggly gift. So I’ve decided,  you just can’t force the fabric to do what you want; sometimes you just have to go with the fabric.

OK, I know I’m sounding like a corny hippie-crat here, but I have to say in my own defense, it’s a much happier way to quilt for me. It takes the idea of ‘quilting with no rules’ one more step. After a day of quilting, instead of being tense and worried about our project, I’m all relaxed and happy with the process.

So the fabric is on a journey through the sewing machine, and we’re just along for the ride. There’s no map and there’s no telling where we’ll end up. We let the fabric tell us where it wants to go, and amazingly enough, it’s usually a beautiful destination. Sometimes you have to back-track (and do some ripping out) but it usually isn’t as painful as you would think.

[It’s kind of like having Bob Ross whispering in your ear (the oil painter on PBS with the soft voice that lets the painting tell him where to put the little squirrels), although the experience is more akin to the PBS show “Rare Visions and Roadside Revelations.”]

Enjoying the journey of the quilt is just more fun when you allow yourself to take detours and visit local attractions. You just never know what you’ll find or where you’ll end up. But at the end of the day, you’ve had a great time and made some memories.

As for today’s adventure, two sets of quilt blocks finally told us that they didn’t belong together. So now we have the beginnings of two awesome quilts. I can hardly wait to see where we end up! Yippee!

Until next time…

One comment on “Going On A Fabric Journey

  • Leave a Reply

