Parenting Help From Oscar Mayer

Published May 25, 2011 by glaumland

Little Boy is in one of those phases where it seems like he is a bottomless pit. Well, not quite bottomless…he fills up in about 5 minutes but then he’s hungry 1 hour later. After filling up on fruit and bowls of cereal, his next favorite is sandwiches. Especially turkey sandwiches.

We get the kind of lunch meat that comes in the little round plastic packages where the bottom peels off. We always stock up when there’s a sale.

Then last week the unthinkable happened…we ran out of turkey. I offered to make Little Boy a bologna sandwich and he said he didn’t like bologna. Yeah, right. Who doesn’t like that lunch meat processed from bits and pieces of different farm animals? Yummy!

So I decided to make him a sandwich, and while I was constructing the sandwich it popped into my mind to sing the bologna song. You know…

My bologna has a first name, it’s O-S-C-A-R…

My bologna has a second name, it’s M-A-Y-E-R…

Oh, I love to eat it every day

And if you ask me why I’ll say

‘Cause Oscar Mayer has a way with B-O-L-O-G-N-A.

Little Boy was intrigued by the song, so I had to sing it a couple of times until he learned the words and the tune. And by that time the sandwich had been eaten.

It was a great Mom moment thanks to Oscar Mayer. And if we ever have a problem with hot dogs, I’ve already got a plan.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

